DIY Sheet Metal Brake

DIY Sheet Metal Brake

IMG_0602

Made From Scrap And Remnant Steel

This is the latest addition to my tool collection.  Best part is I made it.  Most if not all the steel was scrap and drop cuts.  This contribution significantly reduced cost. It’s not pretty but has significantly more bending leverage than many of the imported brakes I could have purchased.

IMG_0603

Bends made in Different Thicknesses of Steel

From left to right,  bends made in 14 gauge, 16 gauge, and 18 gauge steel.  Most smaller hobbyists brakes can only handle 18 gauge maximum.  If I carved a groove with a grinder at bend, I have no doubt I could bend 12 gauge or even 1/8″ plate if need be.  But I feel those thicknesses will be better handled with a home made rig driven by a 20 hydraulic press.

IMG_0604

Brake Easily Stores

Although I originally intended to permanently fasten to a benchtop.  I decided that I like storing it by leaning out of the way.

Above is my instagram post showing video of operation.

Leave a Reply

