Improvised Welding Jig

2014-07-20 22.12.40

Scrap Steel Becomes Improvised Jig

I had cut some triangles out to make two four sided pyramids.  To be able to weld them in place, I needed a steel support to hold them at the right angle.  That is where I remembered the four quarter inch thick steel bars I had laying around.  I realized the bottoms of the triangles would form a square.   Once I had the right configuration, I clamped the bars in place and proceeded to tack weld the triangles together.  I was able then to weld without worrying about damaging the jig.

2014-07-20 23.39.04

Here is a view of the pyramid with seams welded.  I made another pyramid and put it under the other and made the bars closer together.  This is to hold the first pyramid upside down while the other is welded to it.

The photo below shows the underside of the workstation.

2014-07-20 23.39.11

 

2 thoughts on “Improvised Welding Jig

  1. Nadogail says:

    Great idea.

    You are working “Smarter, not Harder”

    • Thank you. Improvised jigs are usually spur of the moment solutions to problems in stabilizing parts. Sometimes DIY tooling becomes part of the creative process.

Leave a comment