Handmade Heavy Duty Welding fixture

2014-04-13 15.41.25

A Welders Helping Hand

If you have ever worked in electronics or know someone that has, you probably have seen one of those helping hand rigs.  They usually come with two alligator clips at the end of two articulated arms and a magnifier in the middle.  It is usually mounted on a base of substantial weight to stabilize it.

Well, at one point or another, a welder or metal smith will require some assistance.  A virtual third hand if you will.  That is how I came up with the contraption featured here.

2014-04-13 15.41.43

Some One Inch Steel Block and a Non-working Clamp

When I came upon this really thick block scrap, I knew it was destined for welding fixture use.  Just was not sure how I would approach the concept.  Once I had my stick welder plugged in and the blocks in my hand, it did not take long to come up with a plan.  I first wire brushed the two blocks and set the angle block on the larger rectangular one.  I then ran beads of weld all the way around to be sure they would NEVER part ways. The angle surface serves as a base where I can temporarily tack weld round or odd shaped objects to it to hold pieces steady while I weld other pieces to it freeing up one of my hands.  See the rear view for the angled block below.

2014-04-13 15.41.12

It was at this moment that I could make my fixture truly my own.  I remembered I had this old clamp that was crooked and never worked right.  I bought it at an auction to get the other two really nice ones.  Auctions have a funny way of putting duds in a lot to get rid of junk slyly.  Well, never fear, that clamp has a new purpose in life.

2014-04-13 15.41.55

I cut off the offending bottom piece and welded what remained on the block.  I will possibly modify this further in the future.  I am just now thinking of possibly cutting a 3 inch piece of 2inch angle iron and welding it upside down on the end of the clamp so it can hold tubing and well as flat metal objects.  More on this later.

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Handmade Heavy Duty Welding fixture

  1. […] I have done less of the creative metal work lately.  I have instead been occupied with objects of utility such as steel shelving and welding fixtures. […]

  2. […] I had all my triangles ready, It was time to weld them in the desired patter.  I brought out my heavy duty handmade fixture.  The idea was to temporarily tack weld the triangles into position  like […]

Leave a Reply

