Steel Shelf for Storage

IMAG1958   Handmade Steel Shelf I am constantly looking for ways to organize my materials and tools.  While recently  going through my closet, I noticed that I had 35 pounds of stick welding electrodes.  Some of them are stainless steel specialty electrodes and are quite expensive.  So I wanted to create a storage solution that would keep them dry and easily accessed. I did not want to invest in more steel so I needed to work with I had on hand.  My goal is to work with materials that I would otherwise not have used in my art.  At least not in the near future.

 

IMAG1953

I made two shelves from some expanded sheet and 3/4″ square tubing.  These shelves are 6 inches deep and 15 inches long.  I then used two 3/8″ square bars nine inches in  length.  I needed some braces in front for strength and support.  They were made from 1/8″ strips that were 1 inch wide.  The completed shelf is shown in the photo below.

IMAG1958

 

The mounting plate is hot rolled steel tread plate 2 1/2″ wide and 18 inches long and 1/8″ thick. The tread plate adds a distinctive industrial look to the shelf unit.  Four 5/16″ holes were drilled into the mounting plate and it was welded to the main shelf unit.  The mounting of the shelf was the most interesting part.  I went to the nearest Home Despot and found these EZ anchors.  They are sturdy metal spirals that you drive into your drywall with only a number 2 phillips screwdriver.  No drilling required.  I chose to mount on studs. The easy anchors even go into these with a little more force.  They come with screws that you mount your item with by screwing them into the anchors.  Each fixture is capable of supporting 50 pounds.

 

IMAG1957IMAG1959

 

Here is the support shelf fully loaded with 35 pounds of welding electrodes.  I am quite pleased with the whole ordeal.   I chose not to paint or clear coat the metal to just keep its rough, industrial image intact.  I make metal art that I display on my Etsy shop.  Stop by and have a look.

One thought on “Steel Shelf for Storage

  1. […] Steel Shelf for Storage (jtbmetaldesigns.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

