Sunburst Key Holder

IMAG1836

Sunburst Theme to brighten your decor

I am realizing the utility of keyholders and I enjoy welding them.  They are usually simple and not very big so they would be a lower priced item in my collection.  The key holder featured here is a sunburst made from a hemispherical pipe cap and square cut nails braze welded together using bronze filler rod. The nbronze joints add some interesting contrast to the grey steel.  I took it a little further and decided to accentuate it a bit.

il_570xN_495877193_9e8k

First I coated the wire brushed sculpture with Krylon Crystal Clear Flat.  This will help seal the bare metal surface from oxidation while providing a dull matt surface to paint on. What I was going for was an warm orange hued bronze color affect on the sun. I also decided to even out the color of the grey steel with darkened silver paint.  For the accent paints, I used water based acrylic metallic paints.  I used the dry brushing technique to apply layers of the metallic paint to minimize brush strokes and to quicken dry time between coats.  I first applied a little copper colored paint to the sun to brighten it. Afterwards, I mixed some copper with bright gold to get a bronze color.  This went over the copper color and it created much depth. This was especially true after I covered the whole thing with Krylon Crystal Clear Gloss.  As you can see from the photo, it really came alive. This sunburst kep holder is listed in my Etsy shop.

Leave a Reply

